Matt Landau
  • Founder, VRMB

Putting A Fun Twist On Negativity

Sarah Bradford (of Sarah & Tim fame) recently shared with me I Illustrated National Parks In America Based On Their Worst Review And I Hope They Will Make You Laugh.

I'm an illustrator and I have always had a personal goal to draw all 62 US National Parks, but I wanted to find a unique twist for these poster designs. When I found that there are one-star reviews for every single park, the idea for Subpar Parks was born. For each park, I hand-letter a line from the one-star reviews alongside my illustration of each park as my way of putting fun and beautiful twist on the negativity.

I've posted a few of my faves below but be sure to read the full post for maximum giggles.

It made me wonder who (if anyone in our community) has considered turning their worst, most ridiculous guest feedback into a kind of marketing device intended to attract the right kinds of guests who think the statement is equally as stupid as you do: like marketing jiujitsu!

I'm thinking branded shirts/coozies, social media posters/campaigns, or merely front and center in your property description to add some stealth flavor.

Does anyone have contender quotes?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.02 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.02 AM.png
    2.5 MB
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.30 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.30 AM.png
    1.9 MB
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.50 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.56.50 AM.png
    2.7 MB
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.57.04 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 10.57.04 AM.png
    1.9 MB
I have been thinking about this recently on a "review" level, based on reading about this Chinese restaurants responses to bad/dumb reviews I read awhile ago. https://www.boredpanda.com/chinese-...oogle&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=organic