Matt's Picks
  1. Matt's Picks
Matt Landau
  • Founder, VRMB

Leading With Your Personal Story

My mother is a brain scientist who has earned an incredible array of accolades over the last few decades. Becoming a scientist wasn't common for women in her generation so (with the help of great mentors) she chose to blaze her own trail.

My father was a shopkeeper whose family business served as a keystone to the community of Princeton, New Jersey his entire adult life (he has since retired and the shop closed). Becoming a community leader wasn't a requirement of the job, but for my dad it was the natural and most enjoyable way.

I definitely see my parents in the person I am and the kind of work I do today.

How about that for a business introduction?!?! Without even explaining what I do for a living, the impact of the introduction is greater because it's personal and it resonates. Maybe your parent was a teacher or a shopkeeper, maybe you are blazing a trail or leading a community! It's truly limited edition (or one-of-a-kind) communication!

EXERCISE

In a sentence or two, share who had the most impact on your life growing up and what about them is reflected in your work?

Note: There's no need to actually explain your business -- in fact, leaving that part out opens up a world of intrigue!

Who wants to go first?!

Last edited:
She has always had my back and my best interests in mind and really encouraged me to do what I love and here we are!
It is great that your sister was supportive and encouraging. Sometimes the favorite is not.

My mother was self-taught in many things. She could, and did, draw blueprints that were used for building homes, she became a master stone mason, and one of President Lyndon B. Johnson's favorite artists.

Mama instilled in me that I could do anything I wanted to do, and whatever that was, to be the best.